The Governor’s Hall

Whilst we can justly claim that the picturesque Almshouses are the jewel in Bedworth’s crown, we can also say that the Governors Hall is the hidden pearl in its centre.


Since the beautiful oak panelled room was built in 1840 it has been the hub around which Almshouse life has revolved. The present day governors still sit around the oak table, the wall panels are adorned by the coats of arms representing the  chairmen of the trust since its formation in 1715.


Overlooking one end of the hall is a magnificent gallery, often used by musicians to provide entertainment during less formal occasions.

The other end of the hall is dominated by a large stone fireplace decorated by exquisite blue Delph tiles.

Pride of place in the fireplace are two spades used by the Prince of Wales in 1934 and the Duke of Gloucester in 1988 to plant trees both of which still stand in front of the Almshouses.


Hanging over the table is a large chandelier made by the late local craftsman Ray Jones some years ago.